Good morning! I went to sleep last night right at the time Michael arrived, so I didn’t get time to catch up with him extensively about his ride.

Flat tires are no fun. Before I leave, I’m going to see if Michael wants one of my spare tubes for today. (Michael passed as we’re across the street from Walmart, etc.)

The ride today has us gaining elevation at a more condensed pace than in days past. Dubois sits at 7,000 feet, while Riverton is at 5,000. I’m hoping that climbing will be spread out over the ~70 miles, but no telling for sure until we’re out there.

My “WINDY” app is showing that there should be no winds on the road today, but we’re expecting another hot day in the mid-90s.

It was great to sleep in a motel again last night. Definitely earned it after yesterday’s ride. Back to camping tonight in Dubois. Fingers crossed that this KOA will be better than the last one we tried to stay at!

Check back later for an update.

Update (4:00 p.m.): I pulled into the KOA in Dubois, WY about an hour ago, cleaned up and set up my tent just before a downpour. Dubois is one of my new favorite small towns. There are some great little shops, lots of food options (as I write this I’m at the Cowboy Cafe), and a top notch KOA Campground. The town is up at 6,900 feet elevation, and you can definitely feel it when cycling.


I got on the road slightly after 7 a.m. today, and despite hills (we’re getting into the Rockies for real now) and some headwind, I pushed though with only a few short stops to refill water bottles. Here are some photos from the approach to the mountains:


As a whole, it was one of my most difficult days yet. After the long ride yesterday, my legs didn’t want to spin for another 75+ miles. I pulled over at a rest stop at about 35 miles in and met another touring cyclist, Joe. He had the same Surly Disc Trucker frame as mine, with a different component set. Check out Joe’s website.

After the rest stop, things got a bit harder and hills started getting steeper. The scenery kept me going though. It’s absolutely beautiful out here.


..and that brings me back to where I am now: eating a late lunch (more like early dinner) at the most recommended restaurant in town (I asked several locals on the best place to eat). “Save room for pie!“, they all insisted.

I’m glad I did.

That’s all for now. I’ll update again when Michael arrives. Going to go sit by the pool and enjoy a book… oh wait! I have laundry to do.


Update (8:30 p.m.): Michael made it! He says that he’s going to make his own post for the day, so check back for that! Since the last post, I did laundry and saw some live Western music.


I returned to my tent site and had a great conversation with some folks about the bike journey. They offered me Clif Bars and Muscle Milk, and I couldn’t pass it up! Thanks, y’all!

That’s all for today. Tomorrow we have a short(er) day, but we’ll be climbing up to 9,600 feet and crossing a mountain range.

You can view the Relive video here!

