Leaving late today (again), so I will keep this at just a place holder until I can update later. Today’s plan: Staying on Route 20 until detouring to a KOA ^stopping near Canandaigua.

***I woke with a slight fever and barb in my throat that feels suspiciously like a cold starting. Feeling a bit weakened by it, I had to cut miles short.***

Update: I met the minimum goal of reaching Canandaigua, but that’s short of the mileage I would have liked to hit for the day. Still, I’ll be in the Buffalo area by tomorrow, and rendezvous with Nate.

Canandaigua is a Finger Lakes town along Route 20. My mom, sister, and I passed through here countless times on the way to see my grandma and family, in the Southern Tier of Central New York, between Binghamton and Ithaca. Geneva, on the same route, was perfectly familiar–unchanged from childhood memory–when I passed through earlier today, but I don’t recognize Canandaigua at all. Weird.

The cycling effort was quantifiably easier today: Wednesday I climbed 1,500 ft. within the first five miles (on the way to 5,500 ft.); Today my cumulative elevation gain was only about 1,400 ft.–over 40 miles. On the other hand, the wind (headwind, of course) was steady at or above 20 mph. At one point, I was pedaling as fast as I could on a downhill grade of -8%, and couldn’t get more than 7 mph against the wind.

I stopped at a roadside stand and bought a banana, a pear, and a fresh whole carrot. I can’t remember the last time I ate a full carrot; It was delicious. While munching on that, a couple approached and chatted about the trip, then offered to let me stay at their place tonight. But it would have meant a 20-mile or more detour, so I politely declined. People have been so nice!

Oh! Quick shout out to the two cyclists I met on the way out of Auburn… And good luck to them on their 450+ mile Finger Lakes tour in August!

See the Relive video.

